Prep Publications Procure Prizes

Prep student media won a number of awards at the Mississippi Scholastic Press Association’s MS Scholastic Pressannual convention, held Thursday, March 26, on the campus of the University of Mississippi. The winners included:


Earthwinds – 1st place, Best Literary Magazine

Earthwinds – 2nd place, Best Design


Sarah Neal Secrest – 1st place, Photo

Gracie Hubacek – 1st place, Poem

Robert Frey – 1st place, Short Fiction

Mary-Hannah Smith – 1st Place, Illustration



The Sentry – 1st place, Best News Site

The Sentry – 1st place, Social Media Use


David Velazquez – 1st place, Reviews

John William Creel, 1st Place, Entertainment Writing

Sam Mosley – 1st place, Unsigned Editorials

Sarah Kennedy Duncan – 1st place, Sports Photos

Haynes Horsley – 1st place, News/Feature Photos

Holt Crews, Leland Meadows, and Julie Payne– 1st place, Depth Reporting

Holt Crews – 2nd place, Depth Reporting

Sarah Kennedy Duncan – 3rd place, Opinion Writing

John William Creel – 3rd place, Entertainment Writing


Links to many of the winning submissions, from Prep and other schools, can be viewed at the Mississippi Scholastic Press Association website.